Red Rice Dosa

IMG_5851

A hearty breakfast on Saturday gives a kickstart to an eventful weekend.Though its still very rush rush thing for me as I work on Saturdays too but I get  a couple of hrs extra. So I thought of making a South Indian breakfast today with red rice and urad daal batter, adapted from red rice idlis I ate at a vegan potluck.

IMG_5824

The previous night preparation involves grinding red rice and urad daal which was soaking since morning. Mix 1/2 tsp salt in the batter and keep it overnight in a warm corner for fermentation. Also boil some potatoes while boiling the daal in the cooker. Else you can boil potatoes in microwave too by piercing them with a fork, keeping them in a ziplock pouch and microwave for 5-7 min, which is what I did.

I used the sambhar for previous night’s dinner and it will be used for a couple of days more. I keep grated frozen coconut which was thawed overnight and I quickly made a chutney out of it today morning. So all I had to do today morning was to lightly stir fry the coarsely mashed potatoes in mustard seeds, turmeric salt and chilli powder.

IMG_5828

The dosa batter had risen 50pc of its volume and looked frothy. I gave it a nice mix and poured into the girdle making thin papery crisp dosas. The crispness is more than normal rice dosas as the red rice is unskinned. It gives the dosas its crispness, beautiful brown color and depth of flavour. And it’s definitely more healthy too!

The Kalaghoda festival is on and I have made a list of events I want to attend today. Also PC (chidambaram) our finmin is holding a conference in my office floor so I got to dress up formal and carry my SLR cam. Will be back with some interesting colourful pics. Happy Saturday morning every one!

IMG_5869

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Snacks - savoury and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

