Creamy cauliflower red bell pepper pasta sauce

IMG_6166

Last weekend was hectic to the core and awesome too. On saturday I brought my car to work and ferried people to and fro office. We bid farewell to one of colleagues and had organised a lunch party at barbequenation. The good thing about grilled food is that one needn’t worry about what has gone into the curry, its oil free (almost) and healthy! The vegetarian platter had spears of cut fruits (apple, pineapple, pear) grilling in the charcoal pit in the centre of the table. There were mushrooms, potatoes, peppers, all kinds of vegetables neatly cut and grilling merrily keeping us warm in the cold air conditioned room.

After the lunch, I had to meet a friend in Bandra and then went off to Powai to meet some more. On Sunday I was hosting a vegan potluck at my place! and I had planned on making some nice creamy pasta without any non-diary cheese which anyways is not easily available here. Along with it some bread and vegan gulab jamun from my previous post.IMG_6162

I had made gulab jamun in the morning itself and all I had to do before calling it a day was knead some bread dough and leave it to rise through the night. Will share my stories about baking the first good bread after innumerable attempts of hardened dough going waste in another post. You can get a peek of my pasta in the above pic. I added brocolli for more health and flavour.

IMG_6144

For now, here the recipe for the pasta sauce which tasted wonderful even when eaten spoonfuls and should make good bread spreads.

Ingrediants :

Cherry Tomatoes – 5-

Red Bell pepper – 1

Grated cauliflower – 1 cup

Cashew nuts – 2-3 tbsp

Garlic – 4-5

Basil – few leaves (optional)

Salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil for stir fry

 Method :

Roast red bell pepper and halved cherry tomatoes in the grill till it becomes slightly blackened and peels off easily.

IMG_6124

I adapted this recipe from veganricha.com who used chipotle pepper flakes but I am using these to give a nice tangy flavour.

IMG_6134

While these are roasting, stir fry small cut onions and garlic for a minute. Then add grated cauliflower and let it cook in spoonfuls of water till they are soft. Once the water has dried off, take it off the heat and let it cool. In the mixer grind the raw cashews, then add the tomatoes and peeled red bell pepper and grind some more.

IMG_6137

Now add the cooked cauliflower and run the mixer for a couple of minutes. You can freeze the sauce at this stage, taste a spoonful and its yummy! My office colleagues love it and it looks like pesto.  

If making pasta immediately, boil the pasta in a pan of water. Add few drops of oil and half a tsp of salt in the water so that they dont stick together and taste good. Rinse the pasta and meanwhile, heat some olive oil in a shallow pan and toss around the sauce a little. To this add some fresh basil and the rinsed pasta. You can add cut and blanched vegetables of your choice at this stage. Toss them together and voila! here is the beautiful pink/peach pasta full of veggie goodies and I promise you, you wont miss the cheese!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

