Have you tasted silk lately?

IMG_6188

Who doesn’t love a bar of yummy creamy milk chocolate? But most milky chocolates available in the market contain dairy milk solids and dark chocolates isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. Though I love dark chocolates also, milky chocolates have a fuller creamier feel and taste which envelopes all inner walls of your mouth and soul! A good chocolate as is scientifically proven can uplift your spirits. So here the recipe which had cocoa butter and coconut cream. This has been adapted from veganricha.com.

IMG_6171

To make these chocolates one basically needs Morde’s chocolate bar and Morde’s cocoa butter which is easily available at Arife’s and in few other shops in Crawford market. A no. of nuts, candied fruits can be added on to create various flavours. I added chopped dates in the chocolate mix and sprinkled it with crushed almonds. I carried these to my office the other day as a treat. My boss had been asking me to distribute sweets ever since my presentation was appreciated by a super boss, six layers above me. You know how these layers are in a public sector organization – never ending.

IMG_6187

The chocolates came out super awesome. I tasted the fudgy mixture while it was still hot and just could not stop. After about 2 hours in the fridge, it solidified and I could break them into squares which I had already created while they were semi hard after an hour. These chocolate squares were loved by my colleagues and friends and are super easy to make too!

Ingrediants:

Morde’s dark chocolate – 1 cup/ 2 pieces

Morde’s cocoa butter – ½ cup/ 2 pieces

Coconut cream – ¼ cup

Chopped dates – 1 cup

Almond flakes or crushed – ¼ cup

Brown sugar – 2 tsp

Coffee powder – ½ tsp, vanilla essence – few drops (optional)

Method:

Chop the dates and crush the almonds and keep all ingredients ready before starting. Now heat the coconut cream till it starts frothing and then add cocoa butter and sugar. You might feel that its too little coconut cream to dissolve it all but trust me once the butter melts, chocolate will easily melt too. So,  add chocolate and let it melt. This will take 1-2 min. Chocolate chips would require less time but are more expensive. Keep stirring and take off the heat, chocolate will continue to melt for a couple of minutes more. Now add the chopped dates or any other candied fruit, raisin etc. Meanwhile prepare a flat dish lined with aluminium foil to spread the chocolate. Spread the chocolate mix onto the dish and sprinkle almond flakes over it.

IMG_6179

Let is cool off a bit and then refrigerate for about 2 hours. Infact for the mumbai weather, I would suggest keep it refrigerated. After an hour cut the semi hardened chocolate with a knife, making squares so that they are easy to break later.

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

