Palak khakhra and Wood apple dip

The other day while doing grocery, I found my favourite fruit from childhood in Nature’s Basket. We used to call it Kaitha in hindi, its also known as wood apple/curd fruit/monkey fruit etc. It has a distinct sour taste and when mixed with salt and chillies, it makes a flavourful chutney to be eaten as a side. I remember we had a kaitha tree in our backyard and me and my brother used to love eating the chutney everyday in the evening just as it is. This is how the fruit looks like.

 IMG_6185

When picking the fruit, smell it and if it has a sour smell the fruit is ready to be used. It has a hard shell just like coconut, break it into two and scoop out the fruit inside. There will be some seeds, you can remove them if you like or crush them in a mixer, I kept them as it is. Just add some salt and red chilli powder or green chilli paste, coriander powder and ginger powder(optional). You may add a little sugar too, I like my chutney without sweet just plain sour. And you are done!

 IMG_6214

I noticed there were lots of left over palak rotis in my fridge. In winters I try to make green rotis every alternate day by pureeing the blanched palak/methi/bathua leaves in the mixer and adding it in the roti dough, just a fun way to add more greens to my diet. There were quite a few leftover from the last weekend as I ended up eating rice and pasta for a couple of days. I remembered the Gujaratis make khakhra out of leftover rotis by using an instrument to press the roti onto the hot pan. I simply grilled mine for 3 min on each side.

 IMG_6200

They came out crisp and became crispier after a 1-2 min of cooling. I had them with gaggery and the wood apple dip and its such simple and healthy snack, provided you have leftover rotis which is largely an Indian concept.

IMG_6232IMG_6220IMG_6219 

I tried a piece on choco and she devoured it. She kept coming back for the crispy pieces, pulling them off from my fingers. Bobo who had been observing this but not giving a damn to my offer, now started picking up the khakhra pieces.

IMG_6229IMG_6227

She enjoyed them too. So my doggies are actually eating greens! Needless to say this is going to become a staple snack/ treat in my house from now on.

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Snacks - savoury and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

