Mango sorbet

IMG_6289

How was your weekend? Busy as usual I would guess. Fridays are my late sitting days at work and since my maid had not come and there was a pile of utensils waiting to be washed, I was in no mood to go home early. I went with my friend to the Marine drive and we sat there feeling the sea breeze on our faces and watching the queen’s necklace and chatting about life in general. But we had to leave at some point to reach home. We ate dinner of crisp masala dosa filled with freshly boiled potatoes at the local anna’s tapri (road side stall)outside my building and there I saw the cutest couple sleeping together

 image

I wound up Friday by watching crime patrol and by not cleaning the utensils, hoping to find the temporary maid next morning which eventually I did. On Saturday, my ex-roommate from NYC who is also currently posted in the head office invited me for lunch with her hubby because I had never met him before. We went to Café Royal at Colaba and they ordered sizzlers, which were pretty much vegan except for some grilled pieces of cottage cheese which I easily removed. I ordered a Lebanese platter of pita breads of two kinds ; soft and crispy, few dips and olives. Babganoush was vegan with no yogurt and hummus was ok nothing great. One doesn’t find more varieties of dips like mahummara easily in Mumbai.

Over the weekend, Rithika was selling vegan cupcakes at the Bagelwala store in Bandra. I really wanted to visit the store on Saturday afternoon after half day at work but the growing summer heat caught onto me and I simply went home and took a small nap. Later I went grocery shopping  and saw some mangoes at the Nature’s basket prompting me to make some vegan ice-cream which I had learnt at the last potluck. Mine came out more like a sorbet than ice-cream. I will experiment with more fruits and come out with the perfect ice-cream but for now, mango sorbet in chocolate sauce it is!

 IMG_6245

Ingrediants:

Any fruit pulp – ½ kg ( I used 3 big mangoes)

Cashew – 3 tbsp

Sugar – ¼ cup (depends on the sweetness of the fruit)

 IMG_6248

Method:

Soak the cashew for 4-5 hrs or overnight. Rinse and make a dry paste in mixer. Now add sugar in the mixer and after few spins, add the mango pulp. It will look like a frothy mix. Put it in a container and let it freeze in the freezer. It will be a creamy no chemical ice cream with a strong fruity flavor! Enjoy with toppings or plain, perfect for summer afternoons!

IMG_6293

 

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

