Lemony mango tart – raw and gluten free

IMG_6359

This is a mid week post as this week has been going on comparatively easy. Last sunday I stocked up my pantry after shopping at the Big Bazaar. The mega exchange offer is going on. I sold off 6 kgs of old clothes (have been saving them for last 2 yrs)there and got discount vouchers worth Rs 1500/- !! I spent all of them and 6 hrs at the mall buying food and household stuff, I just hope the discounts are worth the effort in the final cost analysis.

I have entered into the second month of blogging and it has been motivating to receive likes, follow requests from fellow bloggers. I have been going through a no. of other blogs and chanced upon this blog of http://scarletrosita.wordpress.com/. I saw a recipe of raw mango tart there and remembered my half box of frozen mango sorbet which I had kept to be used later.Though this is not yet the season for mangoes but there is no season or reason for mango cravings. You can also make it from scratch with fresh mangoes.

Servings 4-6, Preparation time 20 min, setting time – upto your resistance power!

IMG_6341

 

 

IMG_6352Ingredients:

For the crust:

Walnuts – 1/2 cup

Dates – 1/2 cup

For the filling:

Peeled and cut ripe mangoes – 1/2kg

Raw cashew – 1/4 cup

Lemon juice – 2tsp

Lemon zest – 1/2tsp

Non-diary cream – 1 tsp (optional) , vanilla essence (optional), sugar (optional)

Method:

– Grind together walnuts and dates and spread the mix on an oiled dish. Keep it in the refrigerator to set.

– Grind the cashew till it is smooth. Now add the mangoes and give it a few swirls in the mixer.

– Mix rest of the ingredients and spread it over the crust. Keep in the refrigerator for 2 hrs to set.

– You may add some agar agar flakes boiled in 1/4 cup water and then adding it to the filling above to make the tart harder in texture.

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

