Mushroom walnut pâté

 IMG_6371
Women’s day was full of nice little surprises at workplace. As I entered the security check at the building entrance 3 ladies dressed in sarees greeted me with a rose and choclate. It was a Cadbury choclate, non vegan of course so I gave it away to the male colleague who wished me first. Just day before Cadbury made headlines for corrupt practices of bribing, tax evasion etc. So I guess there do exist lot if reasons for us to avoid their milk products.
image
My colleague brought a corn millet cake which smelled and looked wonderful and has given me a recipe to veganize. It’s even gluten free! Our senior bosses wished us for women’s day and gave us a gift box! The sweet little note on the top was thoughtfully written. Here is a pic:
image
There were snacks and more snacks throughout the day and later in the evening I went out with my colleague and friend from Lucknow for some beer. We chatted and chatted and I ended my friday in the usual way – by watching crime patrol.
Here is simple and tasty recipe for a lazy Saturday sandwitch spread. If you are bored of the cashew tofu cheeses, peanut butter, bean spreads, here is something simple and refreshingly different.
Servings : 4 medium sandwitches
Prep : 10 min
Ingredients:
Button mushrooms-7-8
Walnuts – 10
Onion – 1
Olive oil – 1 tsp
Salt to taste
IMG_6362IMG_6363IMG_6364
Method:
– Roast the walnuts a bit and grind it in a mixer
– Chop the onions and mushrooms and sauté them in olive oil till translucent for few min
– Add this to the walnut crumb in step  1 and grind some more. You don’t need to make a fine paste, course mix is fine.
– The pâté is ready to be spread on your bread. You may add salt or herbs as per taste though mushrooms themselves have salty taste. Happy Weekend!
IMG_6367
About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Spreads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

