Koba roti

IMG_6408

Hello Friends! Happy St Patricks Day and Happy Birthday to me! Yesterday evening I had gone out with my girlfriends to the Irish House. They had happy hours on the occasion of Patty’s day though the major celebration there is today with a discounted open bus pub crawl, beer games and the works! But we girls prefered to hang out on saturday evening and keep sunday for relaxation and spending time with Bobo Choco. Here is bobo choco at the pet park on sunday-

11511149

 We played some girlie games with lots of girlie talks, I received a bunch of roses and lots of gifts. It was a crazy night after a long long time. The last crazy night that I recall was about year and half back for a friend’s bachelorette.I baked some cookies for them hurriedly in the morning so could not manage to take pics. Will try them again sometime. I was woken up on sunday morning by phone calls from home and friends. I decided to make some lazy parathas with ginger tea as my fridge and pantry were empty due to a pending trip to the grocery. Here are some crazy night pics-1137

I had never heard or seen Koba roti before till my friend mentioned it. I googled it out and saw this beautiful wheel design rotis called Koba roti. It looked thick and the design seemed complicated but once I read about it elsewhere, I found that it was pretty easy to make. Even though it was thick, it cooked quite well and tasted wonderful with vegan butter and some green chutney which I keep frozen like ice cubes. Here is what I found in nature’s basket the other day – Garlic spread. Its exactly like butter, tastes and melts like butter and is made of roasted garlic and hydrogenated vegetable oil. I think it my gretaest vegan discovery and is now a must have in my fridge.

slr 488

Here is the step by step pics to make koba roti.

IMG_6405IMG_6406Roll out a slightly thick roti with the whole wheat dough. Cook it lightly on both sides in hot iron girdle. Remove from heat and make a spiral design by piching between your finger and thumb. Start from the rim and continue till you reach the centre. Cook it again on the hot girdle on both sides with some vegan butter.

I made a couple of more parathas. One is a multi layered square paratha and another one was lachcha parathas. It was fun making these! One can have these with vegan yoghurt or plain vegan butter!

IMG_6401IMG_6402IMG_6403IMG_6395IMG_6399IMG_6398IMG_6404

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Snacks - savoury and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

