Vegan and gluten free gujiya (sweet dumpling)

IMG_6521

Wishing everyone a very happy holi! How did your holi go? I was in Lucknow with my parents for celebrating holi. For me holi was always more about food than colours. I do not play much of wet holi, just gulaals. This time my friend from Mumbai came with me for the hometown trip, to see how holi is played in Lucknow. Here is a sample of snacks we serve the guests on holi

IMG_6475IMG_6557

IMG_6491IMG_6524Look at the beautiful tricoloured chips. The left two are potato chips but made very differently. Leftmost one is made from raw potatoes sliced and dried in the sun and then fried. The middle one is half boiled potatoes fried immeditely without drying and rightmost is tapioca chips(thats novel!) Here are some more pics of my mom’s flower pots and of Lucknow. There are many more flower pots which my mom has painstakingly nurtured and are blooming in all thier glory. Our terrace has tens of pots, each of different vareity. Here is my picture of me with my friend after holi. We visited many palaces of Nawabs of Lucknow, the most popular ones being Bara Imambara and Chot Imambara. Also visited Residency, La Mateniere and Hazratganj for shopping.IMG_6540 As we know most Indian sweets are non vegan and so is gujiya made during holi, diwali festivals. This time my mom bought special vegan gujiya from the sweet shop. This post is not really a recipe because I havent yet tried making this at home but it was interesting to share. The outer cover of gujiya is made with kaju katli (kaju blended with sugar) and inside is filled with choclate. Isnt this a brilliant idea? So simple yet delicious and vegan! And whats more its even gluten free!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Indian sweets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

