Wheat paratha stuffed with leftover rice

IMG_6591I am back to Mumbai after one week of gluttony in Lucknow. It always feels so bad to leave parents and home, one can never get used to that sadness. I tried to focus on excitement of meeting Bobo Choco.IMG_6569IMG_6568 I had left them with my dog lover friend in Mumbai. I got to know that they did not eat at all for first two days and even after that ate very little. So when I reached home the firs tthing I did was to cook them some fresh rice lentil mushy food. Next day morning I took them to the dog park.

There was some leftover rice the other day and decided to use them part for stuffed paratha and part for making rice kheer. Paratha stuffed with rice almost tastes like potato paratha and is an easy way to disguide leftover rice. In Tamil Nadu, my native place, people drink leftover rice with buttermilk for next morning breakfast. Here is the recipe:

IMG_6584IMG_6586IMG_6587Servings : 4 parathas

Ingrediants:

Leftover rice – 2 cups

Wheat flour – 1 cup

Chopped onion – 1

Green chillies – 2-3

Dry masalas to taste – salt, red chilli, jeera powder, turmeric powder

Method:

– Mix all the ingrediants together and crush the rice with your fingers. Since the boiled rice itself has enough moisture in it you might need only 1 tsp oil and very little water to make a dough.

– Roll out the dough carefully with a rolling pin with the help of dry flour. Shallow fry on both sides and serve with vegan butter or yoghurt.

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

