Seitan (wheat meat)

IMG_6598

The Kindle gifted to me by my brother has proved to be absolutely awesome. I have started borrowing e-books from the New York Public Library online and downloading them on the kindle. I have 4 books as of now and 21 days to read them! I am so excited about the NYPL collection. The book I am currently reading is Skinny bitch of Vegan swaps. I have read other books of the skinny bitch series and they are hilariously informative. The book is an excellent guide for hardcore meateaters wanting to make the shift to vegan. I realise that US is a heaven for vegans with so many alternatives available in the market. Anyone who wants to can easily make the shift without having to compromise on taste or health. The book focuses on lot of fake meat and tofu food as a protein source unlike here in India where lentils are the main source of our protein. Anyways, the book inspired me to make some mock meat at home as those available in market are imported one and quite expensive. The main ingrediant in seitan (wheat meat) is gluten which can be easily found at Crawford Market in Mumbai.

IMG_6592IMG_6594Servings :11-12 pieces

Ingrediants:

Vital wheat gluten – 1 cup

Masalas to taste – salt, red chilli powder, garam masala, turmeric powder, garlic powder

Wet ingrediant – soy sauce, olive oil

Method:

– Knead a dough using all the above ingrediants. You can add any masala as per your taste. The dough will be rubbery.

– Divide the dough into small pieces. Flatten these pieces and cook them in salt water in a pressure cooker. Many recipes use vegetable broth instead of plain water to give more flavour to the seitan.

– Cook in the pressure cooker for about half an hour. Traditional recipes call for cooking them in a pot for 1 hour but since I used the cooker, I cooked them for only half an hour.

– Drain the water and pat dry the seitan pieces. Now they are ready for frying, grilling or storing!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Meat alternatives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

