Choclate Coconut bars

IMG_6700

This post is all about chocolates. Now that I am back to my healthy self and I have started swimming on weekends/ holidays to brun off calories, I do deserve to eat chocolates. For chocolate recipes, my favourite blog is choclatecoveredkatie. She whips up such yummy looking desserts which are healthy and vegan! The chocolate coconut bars are inspired from her site. I got the lovely red colour from….?? beetroot!

After packing a box with these creamy chewy chocolate bars and shoving it into my fridge to enjoy them one each night, I tried these french toasts. There is nothing much to prepare in them, I simply used egg replacer and sprinkled some powdered sugar on it. I made one toast with little cinamom and another with melted chocolate mixed with the egg syrup and cooked them on a non stick pan with almost zero oil.

IMG_6706IMG_6697IMG_6698IMG_6704

 

 

 

 

And we are not done yet! Here are some chocolate covered donuts

IMG_6720

I made some choco chip oat cookies too but will share the recipe later. For now, its chocolate coconut bars coloured with beetroot.

Servings : 12 squares

Ingrediants:

Morde’s choclate compound – 2 bars

Morde’s cocoa butter – 1 bar

Shredded and dried coconut – 1 cup

Ground oats flour – 1 cup

Beetroot – 1

Sugar – 1 cup , Water – 1/4 cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp, nuts (optional)

Method:

IMG_6692– Puree one grilled/steamed beetroot in 1/4 cup water. To this add the sugar and cook in a pan till the syrup turns thicker. It will take about 15 min.

IMG_6695

– Meanwhile, grind the oats in a mixer and then toast it in a shallow pan for 10 min till it begins to change colour. Remove from heat and let it cool.

– Add coconut and the beetroot sugar syrupto form a thick batter. Spread this batter on a well oiled dish and pour the melted choclate and cocobutter mixture on top. To melt choclate and butter, put it in a metal container and immerse it in a pan of boiling water till it melts completely. This is a tricky step, preferably hold the container till the melting is complete.

– Cool, cut into bars and freeze! Eat after hardening or if you are like me, you would have already had spoonfuls of choclate while it was melting 😛 

 

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

