Suran or Yam fritters

IMG_6838Suran or yellow yam is quite an underrated vegetable. At my mother’s place we never really cooked this root veggie ever. I guess maybe because my dad did not like it much. However, its a nice substitute for potatoes for people who like them. Its quite a versatile vegetable and can be boiled, baked, fried, grilled or barbequed. It has a meaty texture when cooked and can be spiced up to make yummy snacks.

Now since my cooking aid (my maid) has gone to her village for 10 days, and I have already done this week’s grocery, I need to finish the stuff using some simple recipes. One day I  microwaved for 4 minutes small brinjals by cutting them into four and rubbing with few basic spices and oil, other day I managed some bhindi veg. I was left with some yam which I boiled with potatoes to make this spicy yam fry.

IMG_6834

IMG_6835Ingrediants:

Yam – 1 piece

Spices – salt, turmeric, red chilli, garam masala

Oil for rubbing

Recipe :

– Peel and cut the yam into big slices about 1/4 inch thick

– Boil them in cooker for two whistles or in a pan

– Pat the pieces dry and rub the spices mixed in oil

– Fry on both sides on a shallow pan till crisp on both sides. Serve hot!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Meat alternatives and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment