Stuffed bitter gourd / karela

IMG_6870This was a hectic week and weekend. Firstly I had to work till late on two of the days and there was no mid week holiday as before which I had gotten used to. By the time it was friday night, I was totally exhausted and it was an occasion for me to celebrate. I did so with some nachos and freshly made tangy salsa with lots of green chillis and mojitos to go with them. And I sat with my tray and bobo choco in front of the tv looking for some nice movies.

Over the weekend I mostly ate pizzas and a burnt apple pie whose recipe I cannot post till I perfect it. On Saturday my department went our for lunch to Panchavati Gaurav which serves delicious and exhaustive rajasthani thali. The special dish there was aam ras which is served only in these two months of summer. The food was simple but tasty with lots of variety and everything is unlimited!

M is leaving for New York in another 10 days so the weekend was spent travelling from Powai to Vashi to Chembur and back to help consolidate all belongings. We ate a heavy lunch of punjabi  choley, pulao, parathas and jeera aloo on sunday at his place. My calorie count went for a toss this weekend with all the food and no exercise except for taking bobo choco to the dog pary early morning on both days.

This is a recipe for stuffed bitter gourd. Even though this vegetable is bitter, there is something special about the bitterness of karela. Most people actually like it if its cooked well. Gujaratis put sugar/ jaggery in the veg to balance the bitterness, I prefer other means. The tip to reduce bitterness is to rub the cut pieces with salt turmeric or soak in salt turmeric water and then wash off the karela with fresh water. Another tip is to fry karela properly and use lot of onion almost as much quantity as the karela itself. I also add some dried mango powder and it enhances the overall flavour.

Here I made stuffed karela. Most stuffed karela recipes call for potato as stuffing. I used the outer coarse cover and the inner seeds as the filling. This way nothing goes waste and its just karela without any extra calories.

IMG_6840

IMG_6839Ingrediants :

Small karela – 3-4

Onion – 1 medium

Salt, turmeric, dried mango powder

Oil for frying

Recipe :

– Wash the karela and scrub the outer cover making it smooth. Collect all the scrubs. Also slit the karela from one side and remove all seeds and flesh from inside. This will form the filling.

– Soak the filling in salt turmeric water and rub salt turmeric on the interior and exterior of the karela shells. Keep them for half an hour and then wash them with fresh water.

– Chop the onions and fry it for some time. Now add the karela fillings and fry them for atleast 10-15 minutes till they brown and become crisp. Add salt to taste and little mango powder. Let it cool.

– Fill the karela shells and fry them again in pan turning them every few minutes so that all sides are properly cooked. Serve hot or pack in a lunch box like I did!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuffed bitter gourd / karela

  1. kum says:

    I often make a gravy – Hagalakayi gojju with Karela. It tastes great with rice.
    Karela is so good for health.

    Blog : Global vegan fare

  2. Herbal and Ayurvedic Product says:

    Great Blog!! Karela is really good for health. Your thought processing is wonderful. The way you tell the thing is awesome.
    herbalhills

Leave a Reply

