Jamun fruit jam

065Both my maids are back in action! I know lot of Indian women would understand my joy. I got a new cleaning maid because the previous one has disappeared without any information and my cooking aid is back from her vacation. So finally life is back to normal and I can think of cooking something apart from the routine food.

The two jamun trees and one mango tree in my building compound are heavily laden with fruits. The building manager gave 4 mangoes to each apt resident which I gave to aunty for making mango pickle. However picking jamuns can be really tricky. They are soft mushy berries and have to be delicately picked with a basket attached to a long pole.

The other day I had gone to stock exchange for a meeting and happened to see a street hawker selling purple juicy jamuns. I bought half a kg and ate a few of them on the way. However, there was a sudden change of plans and I had to go out for dinner with M and family and by the time I reached home, they had become all mushy so I decided to make some jam out of them.

Ingredients:

Jamun fruit – 1/2 kg

Apple – 1

Brown sugar – 1 cup

Water – few teaspoons

Method:

– Wash the fruits properly and cut apple into small pieces

– Cook the pieces in little water till the jamun seeds separate. Remove all the seeds carefully.

– Now add sugar and keep cooking for 15-20 min more till the jam thickens and all fruits are mushy.

– Store in a clean jar and refrigerate for longer life.

IMG_6841IMG_6843IMG_6857IMG_6868

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Spreads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

