Vegan in Singapore

IMG_6965IMG_6964

Hello friends!! Last two weeks have been crazy and I haven’t been able to write much or even try much in my kitchen. Infact I haven’t seen the inside of my kitchen for many days, sounds wonderful right! no not really, I missed trying out something new and writing to you all. And this post is not about any recipe but about vegan food in Singapore which I explored in my recent official trip. The colourful platter which you see above is my break fast plate at the Hotel Pan Pacific. Isnt it fresh and beautiful and healthy and yummy!! so much better than eating dead meat. Though its tough to pick a favourite, I absolutely loved the sushi stuffed with pickled veggies and the fresh tofu.

IMG_7076I met my sister in law for lunch at a Japanese vegan restaurant called Herbivore Zen in Fortune Centre. You see those sashimi slices on the left, they were absolutely delicious. All the items were flavourful, fresh and yummilicious! There was mock meat, fried tofu, stir fry veggies, miso soup in my bento box. In Celeste’s box was mock fish and a very yummy noodle dish made out of fresh salads. I think it was radish shred into thin noodles and with lot of flavours from sauces (must try this one!)

IMG_7071 IMG_7067 IMG_7066 IMG_7065 IMG_7064The Fortune Centre had several other vegetarian restaurants. In South East Asian cuisine, vegetarian food is mostly non-dairy and so vegan by default but still make sure to confirm before trying anything. I was so full with Japanese lunch that inspite of my deep desires I could not bring myself to try out the vegetarian rice cakes, rice drink and soya milk drinks. Celeste said there was a place selling tasty soya bean curd but we were too full!

IMG_7097

And whats a trip to Singapore without some shopping. Look what I found… Nuttelex (non-diary butter). You can’t believe its not butter (yes I stole that tagline). And here is another tagline that caught my eye – We have ‘bean’ spreading joy. Gotto love this one!

IMG_7094 And here is some more guilt free nutty , beany, starchy food 🙂 Make sure to visit the Fortune Centre in your next trip to Singapore. Its proximity to a Buddhist and Indian temple inspires its veggie delights!IMG_7090

And here is a group pic at the Universal Studios, after all one got to digest all that food! Have a nice weekend everyone! Will be back with more soon.

IMG_6897

 

 

 

 

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Dairy alternatives and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan in Singapore

  1. valerie says:

    Hello Nice blog. I would like to know where you got the nuttelex from? What’s the shop name in fortune centre and how much did it cost please? Was nuttelex tasty,how would you desribe the taste? Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Hello Valerie, I went to Bougis mall close to fortune centre and in the basement were many food shops. I don’t remember clearly now but the shop was name Nature’s Farm or something. It was around SGD 15 and looks, feels,tastes just like butter! I am hooked to it!

Leave a Reply

