Spinach tofu ravioli in red sauce

IMG_7180Karnala fort trek – check one. Thats the first trek of this season which I completed last sunday. Remember I said I wanted to climb all near by peaks this monsoon. Well maybe not all but I do want to climb quite a few and I have time till mid august to do as many as I can. Frankly its very difficult to remain motivated to get out of one’s cozy warm bed on an early rainy sunday morning and go out in the rain to trek and thats why one needs company. I found two equally enthusiastic friends and we set off towards Panvel in a local train and from there to Karnala in a shared vehicle.

Since I had already woken up half an hour late, I took an auto to Kurla station and from there a train to Panvel. At Panvel we met the group we had signed up for. There were 20 more people, all young energetic adveturous lot. We took shared tempo to Karnala Bird sanctuary. One can reach there by bus too. There is also a car parking at the entrance of the sanctuary and lot of people drive down till there. We three started climbing ahead of the group at about 9:30 am and were on the top at the fort ruins by 11 and since it was raining heavily and continuosly we climbed down and were on the bus to dadar by 2 pm.

988650_10151723705102658_600639422_n996846_10151723705592658_722318309_n

IMG_7158IMG_7159

And so I had the energy to cook up some ravioli in the evening. I just mixed together half a pack of tofu and some spinach dry veg which my maid had made for my dinner. I saved some of this mixture for next day morning breakfast. For the pasta I used everyday whole wheat dough with some salt.

Then I rolled out the dough like thin roti and made small pockets of ravioli. Meanwhile boil some tomatoes in a pressure cooker for the red sauce. Puree them and saute them in olive oil. Add minced garlic, chopped basil and some pepper. In the hot water used for boiling tomatoes, now boil ravioli for 15 min till they start floating on the water.

IMG_7167IMG_7172

IMG_7174Serve the ravioli with red sauce and enjoy! And here is a pic of next morning’s breakfast, quick and healthy and yummy!!

IMG_7161

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Spreads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

