Oil free onion and potato bhajia/ pakora/ fritters

548

So what is your favourite rainy day snack? I am sure for most it will be bhajia and chai or some other fried snack. Nothing beats the combination, even the most die hard lean diet followers would agree. But how about some oil free bhajia? ”Is that even possible? It defintely cannot taste the same!” Well believe me when I say this it tastes ALMOST the same and thats a small price to pay for guilt free bhajia. They are actually healthy and gluten free. You can use a variety of vegetables and batter is just chickpea flour.

535

Take 1/2 cup chickpea flour in a bowl and add spices to taste – salt, red chilli powder, coriander powder, turmeric poweder. Can add freshly chopped green chillies and coriander too I did not have them so havent used them here. Add a pinch of soda and water to make a paste. Separately chop onions, potato and any other vegetables and add it to the paste. The batter should be slightly thicker than usual

536

Now I did an experiment here. I divided the batter into two batches. I spread one batch on a glass plate and put it in the microwave for 3 minutes. The other batch, I steamed again in the microwave for 3 minutes. Both came out well cooked though the second one was quite moist. I sprayed oil over both the batches and put them in the glass plate and into the grill for 5 min turning in between. The first batch came out crispier and crunchier. So the moral of the story is , save yourself the trouble of steaming the fritters, just pop them into the microwave, grill for a while and you are done! Enjoy with some hot tea and chutney!

540

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
Image | This entry was posted in Snacks - savoury and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

