Spaghetti and green beans in pesto sauce

IMG_7477

I am back from Singapore and still recovering from the jet lag, well not actually the jet lag but the hectic schedule. Slept most of my weekend even though I wanted to watch the rains. Its been raining quite heavily whole of last week and the weather is just beautiful, commuting to office is a pain though. However the good thing about sleeping is I always feel like cooking something interesting as soon as I wake up and usually something quick and tasty comes out of it, like this pasta. It was ready in ten minutes. While the spaghetti was boiling I readied the pesto and then brought them all together in a shallow pan in some olive oil.

Pesto is my favourite pasta sauce and its surprising uncommon in most restaurants. Whichever buffet I have been to in the past, which has a live pasta counter, they have only two choices of sauces red or white. I always go for red without cheese but red sauce gets so boring after a while. Traditionally, pesto requires three main ingredients pinenuts, cheese and basil. However here I am going to use the nuts I already have at home which is cashew and walnuts. I keep some chopped basil frozen and shaped like ice cubes in the freezer so I just took one of that, some garlic and one secrest ingredient – nutritional yeast! After scouting whole of Crawford for it, I finally managed to ask my parents to get some from London.

IMG_7474The label says it has Vitaim B12 too! So here goes the recipe of this cheesy crunchy nutty pasta meal!

Ingredients :

Cashews and Walnuts – 1/2 cup (can use any other nut)

Basil – 1 cube

Garlic – 5-6

Olive oil – 2-3 tsp

Nutritional Yeast flakes – 2 tsp

Salt and pepper – to taste

IMG_7475IMG_7476

Method:

– Put pasta to boil and meanwhile mix all the pesto ingredients except for salt pepper and olive oil in a processor

– Chop green beans into 1 inch long pieces and when the pasta is almost done add the beans to them. Cook for a minute or two more and then drain the water. This keeps the beans crunchy, just the way I like them.

– Heat olive Oil in a pan and saute the pesto for a while, then add the pasta and beans and mix them all together. Serve hot and enjoy!

N.B. – I finished the online PADI scuba module and cleared the written test and now I am ready with the score card for the open sea dives! Andaman here I come!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Spreads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

