Focaccia Bread

IMG_8178

I am still recupurating from my long vacation and huge bills are still getting paid by and by. I don’t know why people at work usually expect you to come refreshed and ready to work when rather you are tired from all the travel and hardly in a mood to work. However the good news is that I got promoted and all my batchmates got promoted too. We celebrated it immediately by lunching out to Suzette which a quaint little french place serving freshest salads and sandwitches. Then we had a samosa party in office in the evening and the planning for a bigger party at a some night club started taking shape. Few closer friends of mine and me decided to go out for dinner one Friday and a houseparty one Saturday. In short a lot of celebrations to look forward to.

IMG_8172IMG_8176IMG_8175Bread making is not the easiest job in the world, its actually an art and a science both to a considerable degree and I am nowhere close to mastering it. So I rather try easier, more flavoured stuff than plain bread. I am always fascinated by Focasia with its various flaours of olives, tomatoes, garlic, onion, basil all coming together and nicely grilled in olive oil. I would recommend it for beginner bakers as the taste of so many other ingredients makes up for whatever is missing in the bread itself.

Ingrediants:

FOR BREAD

Whole wheat flour – 1 cup

Salt – 1/8 tsp, Sugar – ½ tsp

Instant yeast – ½ tsp

 FOR TOPPING

Onion – 1

Garlic – 7-8 cloves

Olives – 5-6

Tomato – 1

Olive oil, salt, pepper, basil leaves

 Method:

–       Proof the yeast and make dough out of all the bread ingrediants. Give it a cicular shape and let it rise for 3-4 hrs.

–       Now put some light dent marks to hold the toppings. Top it with all the topping ingrediants and sprinkle olive oil liberally. Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste.

–       Bake it in a heated over for 45 minutes. Slice and enjoy!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Baked goodies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

