Over ripe banana fritters

IMG_8297

My exam is just 10 days away and all I do in the kitchen is either make tea or cut some fruits or pour soymilk on cereals for a quick break. However these two quite old bananas could not wait anymore. Something had to be done with them quickly or else they would die a disgraceful death in the garbage bin. I googled up some easy recipes to use over ripe bananas and most of them were banana bread or cake. Now I don’t have that kind of time on my hands do I? So I settled for this Jamaican recipe of banana fritters with just three ingredients (and that includes oil for frying so basically just two!!).

IMG_8285IMG_8286

And the two ingredients are overripe banana ofcourse and whole wheat flour. I tried one fruit with whole wheat and made another one gluten free with semolina. I guessed it would make them crispy too. So all you need to do is mash up the banana and add two table spoon fulls of the flour of your choice and make a sticky smooth doughy batter. I guess one can add more flour and give better shape but I just wanted more of fruit and less of carbs so just added enough flour to shape them up with oiled hands.

IMG_8287IMG_8290

Frankly the whole wheat ones tasted better than the other ones. They smelled deliciously of banana just like a freshly baked banana cake and tasted heavenly without the need for any added sugar. For the semolina fritters, after  shallow frying them in oil (I used non-stick pan so even oil used was very little), I removed the fritters, put few drops of water on the heated pan and sprinkled sugar over it. I let it bubble for a minute or two and then coated the fritters in sugary glaze. Don’t they look beautiful! They remind you of and come very close to our own malpua!! But much less oil and so quick & easy to make! This one is a must try.

IMG_8292

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Indian sweets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

