Gluten free rotis/flatbreads

photo 5

Fortunately for me ever since my exam got over, vegan meetups have been happening more frequently. Last Sunday we young vegans met at Rithika’s place to eat her gluten free black forest cake and my gulab jamuns and then went to Starbucks, R City mall to wash it all down with some hot soy latte. I had my pick of Halloween special pumpkin spiced latte. The typical smell of starbucks coffee reminded me of my favourite city, New York. 

photo 4 

photo 2This Saturday I enrolled for a cooking class at Dr. Rupa Shah’s. This was my first workshop at her place as the timings finally suited me and I was thrilled to go for it. It was part 1 of gluten free dishes : Indian. Rupa’s huge kitchen in Khar was a pleasure to be in. It was well equipped and fridge well-stocked. I learnt a lot of small tips and many recipes of course and will be trying them all one by one. We were told to practice these recipes and invent one of our own in the next one month before the part 2. 

photo 5I shall discuss all that I learnt one by one as and when I try them with my own hands. Here is one of the gluten free rotis (flat bread) that I tried. Commonly used gluten free flours for this are- rice flour, jowar/millet flour, bajra flour, chickpea flour, moong daal with skin flour. These flours are easily available in the market, besides many other pulses and grains.

photo 1In order to make dough use warm water and knead well. To make them into circular flat bread is also an art.  It can be done in several ways. You can flatten the dough in between both palms and try to roll lightly with a rolling pin. Or you can put the dough between two plastic sheets and then roll it flat. Or you can pat it between the two palms and then roll it on a flat plate sprinkled with a little dry flour using your palm. Use little dough at a time and make as thin rotis as possible. Carefully put it on a hot iron girdle and cook on both sides pressing it down with a clean cloth.

photo 2 photo 3

 

photo 4

These flat breads are cooked without oil and are best eaten warm and fresh out of the pan. Since I carry my lunch box to work, I don’t think these can replace my wheat rotis for lunch but I can definitely try them for dinner once in a while or perhaps everyday. Who wants the gluten at bedtime anyways and spend the night digesting it by rolling on the bed. These flat breads can also be used for international cuisine like enchiladas, crepes, rolls.

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

