Undhyu – a gujarati speciality

food 014

The other day I had gone to Kandivalli station area and was walking through the clean and colorful vegetable market in this beautiful gujju locality. I saw many fruits and vegetables which I normally don’t find in my local veggie haunt which is Godrej Nature’s Basket. I decided to do my weekend grocery shopping right there and then. I bought purple yam, surti papdi  which I don’t see often.

Besides I bought ber (berries) and water chestnut for munching.  Next I wanted to make something special out of the purple yam and surti papdi and the first thing that came to mind was undhiyu. So I bought some raw bananas and small brinjals and went ahead with preparing the marinate.

food 004Ingrediants for Marinate

Ginger (2 inch), Garlic(10-12), Green chillies(4-5), Coriander (quite a few)

food 005Ingrediants for main dish

Purple Yam – 1 cup (peeled and cubed)

Raw banana – 1 cup (unpeeled and cubed)

Small brinjal – 1 cup cubed

Surti papdi – 1 cup (veins removed)

SPICES : salt, ajwain, turmeric, hing

Method

–          Make a paste of the marinate material and chop all veggies.

food 007–          Add oil to the marinateand coat the veggies evenly and let it sit for an hr.

food 009–          Now heat oil in a pan and fry the veggies except papdi for 5-6 minutes till soft.

–          Add the spices and surti papdi. Let it cook for 5 more minutes adding little water to the bottom to avoid the masala from sticking. Cook till the yam is soft.

–          Sprinkle chopped coriander on top and serve hot with paratha or eat it as it is.

food 012

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Undhyu – a gujarati speciality

  1. dapperdolly says:

    In love! If I could only take a portion through the screen!
    x
    http://fashionthatpays.wordpress.com

  2. kum says:

    Oh my! Undhyu looks so YUM…
    I love gujarati food…

    Blog : global vegan fare

Leave a Reply

