Peanut and rice milk yoghurt

food 035This weekend has been quite hectic and full of wonderful moments. On friday I had gone for an office party at the Terrace Garden, ITC Grand Central. It was a beautiful lawn with stunning view of the mumbai skyscrapers. I dont have a pic to share here, but I am sure you imagine that. There was a separate section for jain food in that party where noone wandered. I filled my plate with lots of salads, crispy pita-hummus and pasta in red sauce and enjoyed the stand up show. I liked the fact that the performer made fun of non veggies and said it was so cool to be a vegetarian for the love of all the animals!  Then on saturday I went to the vegan thali at Rajdhani, they were having a vegan thali week. We vegans decided to go there in small groups.

photo 1

Vegan thali was a great initiative and all the servers there knew what vegan was and what not to serve. They replaced all ghee with sesame oil so food was a little heavy but I enjoyed every dish. I especially liked the sweets which were many – churma, nuts mix, peanut chakli and sesame laddo. After the thali, I went for a play in the evening to Prithvi Theatre. Now PT is definitely one of my favourite spots in the city. I love ther cafeteria and their very famous irish coffee which is black coffee with little irish whiskey and whipped soy cream.

photo 2Guess who else was there to watch the play with us? Kareena Kapoor! The play was on ‘Umarao Jaan’ of Lucknow. Me, Shalini and Parimal all being from Lucknow, we thoroughly enjoyed the play. And me and shalini enjoyed it even more as the play was heavy on classical music and dance. It just took us to another world all together. All the urdu poetry which not many mumbaikers would appreciate filled up our senses.

On sunday I decided to try peanut and rice milk curd. I have tried peanut curd nefore but the flavour is heavy on the peanutty side so I have not liked it much. However this idea which belongs to Dr. Rupa Shah and she even has a video on youtube on this recipe, is just brilliant! I have made cashew curd before which turns out to be little expensive for daily usage. Peanut is affordable and I have used agar agar earlier to make the curd thicker. Rice milk does the same job of thickening the peanut milk and also subdues the peanutty taste.

Ingredients:

Peanut – 1/2 cup

Rice – 1/4 cup (unpolished and brown)

Curd starter – I used a non vegan curd as I was making it for first time.

Method:

– Soak the peanuts and rice separately overnight.

food 023

– Drain the water and first make peanut milk. Add the peanuts with 1/2 cup of water and run it in a mixie. Then pass it thorugh a cheesecloth and extract the milk

– Repeat the process of extraction of milk 2 more times, each time adding 1/2 cup of water which running the mixie.

– Similarly extract rice milk by mixing it 3 times with 1/4 cup water each time.

– Put peanut milk in a pan and bring it boil. Now lower the flame and add rice milk little at a time and stirring it slowly. Keep adding and mixing till its all over. It will take around 10 minutes for the milk to thicken.

food 024

– Let it cool and you will see that the milk has become quite thick.

food 027

– When the milk is slightly warm, add the starter and keep in a closed container in a warm place for 4-5 hours. Once the curd is set, keep in the fridge and it stays for 7-10 days! The residue from straining the milk can be used while making bread/ roti.

food 031

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Dairy alternatives and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

