Mysore Pak

food 041

This weekend was really hectic packed with activities. Firstly I attended the vegan potluck on Saturday in Bandra. Though I had planned to carry Mysore Pak for the potluck and had made it in advance, making it in advance actually turned out to be a bad idea, because I finished the yummy sweet eating a couple everyday and by the time it was Saturday I did not have enough left. So I carried strawberries wrapped in choclate to the potluck. This is what they looked like.

food 048

 They were nothing compared to Mysore Pak yet people loved the juicy red strawberries dipped in choclate. There were many other yummy vegan dishes at the potluck. There was bottlegourd soup, pasta, mix veg raita, vegetable pot pie, stir fry potatoes, 2-3 types of salads and lots of desserts. I ate a plate full of desserts and both my main course and dessert plates looked like this. Also is the picture of my favourite dish of the event made by Saroj. I wont be giving out the recipe till I try it myself.

photo 3 photo 2

photo 1On sunday was the pinkathon, a marathon of ladies for breast cancer awareness. Check out our pics in pinks. Before the marathon was a warm up session by Zumba dancers of the Shiamak troupe. It was pitch dark at 5:30 am, the time when we were supposed to gather and I decided to drive down to avoid the chill. However once we reached the venue, it was party time! There was lots of music, dancing, giggling, shouting all that girls love to do. We wound up the event by having south indian breakfast at Matunga.

photo 1

Later in the evening on the same day I went with a couple of friends to Mona Gandhi’s Khanabadosh event which is a talk on raw foods. Mona had brought a wide variety of fruits and vegetables and taught us how to make various salad dressings and salads. Here is what my salad plate looked like.

photo 2

Now back to the Mysore Pak. This recipe is actually inspired by Vegan Richa’s ebook on diwali sweets and I being a south indian, had to try making this one. Here it goes-

Ingredients:

Chickpea flour – 1 cup

Coconut oil – 3 tbsp

Raw Sugar – 1.5 cups

Water – 1/2 cup

Oil – 1 cup (mix of canola oil, coconut oil and cocoa butter)

food 036food 038

 

 

food 039Method:

– Roast the chickpea flour for 5 minutes and then add coconut oil and roast for few more minutes

– Separately boil sugar and water together till 1 thread consistency. Also heat the 1 cup oil.

– Add the sugar water mixture to the roasted chickpea flour till there are no lumps.

– Now add oil one spoon at a time and stir constantly. Soon the mixture will boil and change colour and become sticky.

– Keep a greased pan ready and as the mixture thickens, pour the batter in it. Let it cool and then cut into squares. You may even cover them in choclate to make candies.

food 047

 

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Indian sweets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mysore Pak

  1. kum says:

    I love mysore pak. I’m in search of good vegan mysore pak recipe…
    Thank you so much for veganizing traditional sweets. Do you have recipe for vegan seven-cup cake, a popular sweet from Tamil Nadu?
    Where do we get vegan sugar in India?

    blog :global vegan fare

Leave a Reply

