Strawberry cheese cake

photo 3This cheesecake is easy to make, bake and fake. And you wont believe its not cheese but tofu! I had this silken tofu of Mori Nu lying in my fridge and a box of fresh strawberries and I thought let me just give this a try. Next day I carried it to work and gave it to my colleagues, noone could say it was non diary cheese cake.

Ingredients:

Firm tofu (Mori Nu) – 1 packet  (8oz)

Strawberries – 13 to 15

Sugar – 1/2 cup

Egg replacer – 1/4 cup

For the crust – 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp cinamon, 1 tsp margarine, 1-2 tsp oil

food 058

food 060

Method:

– Stir the eggreplacer in 1/4 cup warm water and keep aside.

– Clean the strawberries and lightly run them in a mixie. Now in a pan cook these chunky strawberry pieces with sugar for about 10 min

– While the syrup is cooking, prepare the crust. Mix all the ingredients for crust and layer a pan with it. Bake it at 180C for 15 min

– Meanwhile run the tofu in mixie till smooth. Add the eggreplacer mixer and run some more. Now add the strawberry preserve and run the mixer. My preserve looks dark because I used brown sugar.

– When the crust is done, layer the filling and bake in the over for 30-40 minute.

– Once it is done and firm, let it cool. Keep refrigerated for a couple of hours and serve chilled!

food 062

 

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Dairy alternatives and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

