Kung Pao mixed veggies

food 080

Christmas eve is when we brought Bobo home. And a year later choco too. So this is the day we celebrate the birthday of Bobo and Choco every year. I have a guest list and a menu list ready. As I went grocery shopping keeping in mind the party, I came across this thai mix in the grocery section.

food 076

Isnt it wonderful to have all thai greens in one place rather than scouting for each one separately. Well I had thought of trying to make Chinese Kung Pao potatoes inspired by my colleague’s mom but now I had these thai flavours in hand so I decided to marry the two – veggies in chinese chilli sauce with thai aroma and after taste. Marriage wasnt a bad one after all.

food 077

I just chose few veggies besides baby potatoes and chopped them into even sizes. I added carrots too though they are not in the pic and some soya chunks soaked in water for a few minutes. Except for the baby potatoes nothing else needed to be boiled.

I fired the boiled potatoes first and then added all the other veggies and shallow fried them in 2 tsp of olive oil for a few minutes. Then I added 1 tsp of soy sauce and little thai curry paste. To have a little saucy effect, I added 1 tsp of cornflour too. Toss them all together and sprinkle generously with all the thai greens. Let the aroma work its magic for a few minutes under the pan cover even after the gas is switched off. And thats it! We are ready to eat. With potatoes, soy chunks and veggies this indeed is a complete meal and an anyday comfort meal.

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Main Course and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

