Rice kheer in coconut milk with fresh fruits

image

This is a quick weekday dessert which can be assembled in a ziffy whenever you feel like having something sweet after dinner. Especially days such as these when my favouriteKalaghoda festival is going on in town. Luckily my office is walking distance from Kalaghoda and  so I ended up there on some days for lunch, some days in the evening during the 10 day fest. Here are some colourful, vibrant pics from the fest to give you a brief glimpse.

imageimageIt’s the awesomestart, theatre, music festival in Mumbai. I purchased few appliqué work curtains just look how beautiful they are !!

image I also got some board games for my bro and sis in law and some handbags for my mom.

imageVegan dishes that I have tried till now are Undhiyu-Puri, Khowseuy and Tepanyaki. After all that yummy heavy food, sometimes I come back home and all I want is a quick dessert. And here is one such:

 image

imageIngredients:

–          Leftover rice – 1 cup

–          Coconut milk condensed – 1/2 cup

–          Sugar – ½ tsp (optional)

–          Cardamom powder – 1/8 tsp

–          Fresh cut fruits like grapes, banana, strawberry

Method:

–          Tke the left over cooked rice and moisten it with a little water and mix it together with a spoon, breaking the grains

–          Now add coconut milk and cook for 5 min, stirring continuosly

–          Add sugar, cardamom powder and let it cool a bit, Sugar is optional as coconut milk and fruits provide natural sweetness

–          Add fresh cut fruits and garnish with crushed nuts

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

