Fermented beetroot carrot juice (kanji)

image

I know the above picture doesn’t look like the juice which the topic mentions. The thing is I am going to share the recipe for the juice but have no picture of it as of now. So I put up the picture of palm sugar which my parents had bought in south India and is much healthier and natural than the usual white sugar. Its only found in coastal regions.

This year the festival of Holi and my birthday both fall on the same day! So I had double reason to go visit my parents. I even had a small get together of my schoold friends on this day. The menu was luckhnavi chaat. Since I did not want to put any pressure of cooking on my mom I decided to order everything from a famous chaat shop near Gol Market. The chaat was accompanied with the usual holi treats of chips, gujiya (spl vegan gujiya for me), mathri, dahi bada (cashew curd for me), namkeen. All this heavy food needs to be washed down with the digestive fermented carrot juice.image

Ingredients:

Carrot, Beetroot – 1 each

Yello mustard – 1 tsp

Water – 1 litre

Salt – to taste

Method:

– Cut into small pieces carrot and beetroot (for color) and soak in 1 litre jar of water

– Crush the yellow mustard and add in the water

– Keep this jar in sunlight for 2-3 days, soon the water will become colored and sour

– You can drink this juice with pieces (thats how I like it) or you can sieve it through to remove all crushed mustard and carrot beetroot pieces. Serve chilled with little salt!image

Happy holi to Bobo Choco!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fermented beetroot carrot juice (kanji)

  1. Pingback: Pea Green-Mint-LemonBalm Juice | Kitchen Counter Culture

Leave a Reply

