Puran Poli

imageWishing everyone a very happy GudiPadwa. Most Indian desserts are heavily milk based but interestingly, few Maharashtrian desserts are vegan minus the ghee for flavouring like Puran Poli and Modak. So I set out to make puranpoli to feel the festive spirit of gudi padwa. But before that a quick recap of last week. The good news I have been dying to tell is that I bought a new I phone 5C! Besides that I have been fostering a small pup which I rescued from my backyard and will be adopted by my maid. Also, I joined a book club in my area and it opened my eyes to a whole new world of books! We discussed ‘Runaway’ by Alice Munroe and also many other good reads. I have some 7-8 new books on my kindle now waiting to be read which I collected asfter getting inspired from the meetup. Now the recipe for puran poli:imageimageimageimage

Ingredients:

Chana daal– ½ cup

Jaggery – ½ cup

Whole wheat flour dough – 2 cups (for 4 polis)

Salt , oil (optional)

Method:

–          Soak and boil the chanadaal. Separate the boiled daal and water through a sieve

–          Now crush the boiled daal and add jaggery. Cook this in a pan with little or no oil. The mixture will leave water and keep cooking till the mixture dries up. This will take 7-8 minutes

–          Make roti dough, you may add a little salt in this to bring out the flavor of jaggery even more.

–          Roll the dough with puran mixture filled inside and cook on a hot girdle on both sides. This can be rolled and cooked without oil though traditionally lot of ghee is used.

–          Serve with srikhand or spicy syrup made with the daal water!

About kalpanamudaliar

Hello friends! Cooking is my passion and so are animals and hence this blog on vegan recipes. I live with my two rescued indidogs Bobo and Choco and am absolutely crazy about them maybe a little less than how much they are about me. This blog is about my experiments with varioud foods and providing vegan alternatives for a guilt free living.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Indian sweets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

